Time to read
4 minutes
Read so far


Wed, 05/29/2019 - 11:51
Posted in:


The Four Noble Truths - Foundation

The Four Noble Truths are the very foundation of the Buddha's teaching.  The Dalai Lama describes them as the original knowledge that Buddha spoke after he attained enlightenment, and emphasises their importance.  Dalai Lama divided the Four Noble Truths into his first ever lecture in the West (June 1996 in London):

Four Noble Truths of Buddhism

 1. Dukkha - Noble Truth About Presence Of Suffering

The unruly mind puts a person into suffering (samsara).  The opposite - that is, the disciplined and balanced mind is in the state of supreme reconciliation (nirvana).  In Four Noble Truths teachings Buddhism recognises three domains of existence: the domain of desire, the domain of form, and the domain without form.  If existence is linked to desire and sensory perception, thus controlled by dependence on physical objects, its path leads to being falls under the domain of desire.  On the side of existence, being attached to the inner emotional state and feelings is still dependent on a certain form of suffering, even if their consciousness is deepened.


 Three Types Of Suffering

 The Buddha distinguishes three kinds of sufferings, these are:

  • Painful experiences, including unsatisfied desires.
  • Suffering caused by constant change
  • Dissatisfaction from a lack of enlightenment. 

In the cycle of birth, we find ourselves in a stage between birth and death, where illness and ageing are constantly emerging. 


Four Noble Truths


The suffering caused by constant change can also bring experiences that we consider to be pleasant.  But Buddhism claims that even pleasant experiences are ultimately a source of sorrow and suffering.  That's because the experiences are only pleasant allowing for the comparison with the painful experiences.  In the short term, one may feel wonderful, but if one is still in the birth-death cycle, sooner or later the same "pleasant" situations are no longer satisfying which brings  frustration and suffering, because of lack of acceptance of transient nature of universe. 


Dissatisfaction from a lack of enlightenment flows from deep ignorance and unenlightened existence and forms with accumulating suffering. From the disappointment it transpires that one samsara cause another to follow.  Why are things as they are? Buddha teaches that unless as one does not realise the true nature of things, suffering will always come and an in existence subjected own ignorance by a lack of awareness and realisation, permanent happiness cannot be achieved. 


 2. Noble Truth About The Origin And Cause Of Suffering

Ignorance is not the only cause of human suffering and unenlightened existence.  It is an extensive set of disturbing emotions and thoughts. Depressing emotions can cause a negative impact on our minds despite a short period of action. Buddha says that the cause of pain and suffering is a lust or desire, and that if we want to get rid of pain, we must cut through the bonds of desire. People were dissatisfied at the time of Buddha, but long before.  Buddha taught that our continual lust and desire is the root cause of our discontent.


Four Noble Truths Lucifer Desire


A Buddhist monk once said, "I can summarise everything I have learned in twenty years in a monastery with one sentence: Everything that arises also disappears. I know it. According to Eckhart Tolle, the monk meant in fact this: I learned to accept all that is;  so I found my inner peace."


3. Noble Truth About The End Of Suffering - Nirvana


Suffering can be ended by the eliminating lust and desire. Suffering ends if we completely abandon both. The main idea of ​​the Third Noble Truth is to forgo all misery and illusion.  It is important to keep an open mind, to observe suffering and through consciousness to be consciously detached.  The Buddha had often stressed: This truth is to be accomplished now and here." We do not have to wait until our death to see if it is all true - this teaching is for all living human beings. Each of us must do it ourselves.  I can tell you about it and encourage you, but I can't do it for you!  He says that his words are only pointers to awakening, all our efforts are ours.


4. Noble Truth About The Journey - Noble Eightfold Path

The Buddha in the Noble Eightfold Path summarises the path to enlightenment. The path includes right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right meditation.


Four Noble Truths


The path may lead to the entry into the stream, that is, the path of some liberation from suffering.  An individual who returns only once needs only one human life to free himself from suffering.  The last option is the state of the liberated, Arahata.


Arahat is the one who will carry out enlightenment in this life.  Those who wanted to become an Arahat had to give up all property and relationships (accepting the status of a monk) and those who had finished suffering in their earthly life had reached the "clean lands" of "nirvana" after the earthly death.  Buddha teaches that the first truth should be understood, the second abandoned, the third realised and the fourth developed.


What Is Space?

Form is emptiness, emptiness is a form, as found in Buddhist collections of sacred script called Sutras.  The essence of everything is emptiness.  Buddhists, and many others are aware that  nothing can exist without empty space, just as sound cannot exist without silence.  Every matter, including the material body, is nearly a hundred percent emptiness - so great are the distances between atoms.

Four Noble Truths - Eckhart Tolle Quote


Diversity Of Buddha's Teachings

As a result of the wide spread of Buddha's teachings throughout Asia and its popularity over the years, his knowledge has been enriched by specific cultural differences and characteristics.  With current knowledge, we can diversify the directions of Buddha's teaching as such:


The earliest school of Buddha's teaching is called Theravada ("Teachings Of The Elders").  This school of Buddhism common to Thailand, Sri Lanka and Vietnam.  The basis of the Theravada teaching is the so-called Pali Canon in Buddha's discussions.  Second school of Buddhism is Hinayana, aimed at protecting beings from all negative, drawing on a great deal of the Four Noble Truths.  Hinayan is further divided into the divisions of the Shrajak and Prajteka Buddhas.  The third school of Buddhism is Mahayana.  It focuses on the so-called boddhisatva, a person who is in the same state of mind as the Buddha before enlightenment, probably at the time one decides to go on the path of knowledge.  In Mahayana, the levels of advancement of a human in enlightenment are described.  The Mahayana School is currently found in China, Japan, Korea or Vietnam.  It is sometimes said that Zen Buddhism is also ranked amongst Mahayana, but Zen is equally often considered a separate school.  Vajrayana, considers itself to be the most advanced and most effective Buddha's teaching.  It combines previous school knowledge and adds a practice of learning in which mantra recitations are important, a series of syllables, support sound vibration, help calm the mind.  Vajrayana is divided into inner tantras and outer tantras.  It is associated with Tibet, today it is also located in Mongolia, Nepal, China, Japan.  It has spread rapidly in the West, mainly in the US and Europe.